Facebook has reported another “lock profile” highlight that will empower users to shield their data on the stage from being seen by any individual who isn’t in their ‘friend list’ . This security highlight is intended for “individuals in India, particularly ladies” who need more power over their data on Facebook, the organization said. The most recent profile security include is touted as the replacement of the Profile Picture Guard – propelled about three years prior. The security highlight will be turned out to all users over the coming days.
What does Facebook profile lock feature do?
Facebook says that the lock profile feature includes an additional layer of security to the profiles on the stage. At the point when the element is empowered, non-friends can’t zoom in, share, or download users’ full-size profile picture and cover photo. Additionally, old and new posts can likewise be not seen by non-friends if the security include is on.
While Facebook already provides several privacy options that offer similar security enhancements, the new feature will essentially make things much easier, especially for people who find it hard to navigate plethora of privacy options on the platform.
“We are committed to providing a safe platform for people to express themselves, Ankhi Das, public policy director, Facebook India said in a statement. “We are deeply aware of the concerns people in India, particularly women, have about protecting their online profile. Today, we are announcing a new feature which, in one easy step, will give people a lot more control, ensure their privacy and keep them safe and secure online.”
It is also important to note that once users enable the new feature, all the old public posts can only be viewed by friends. It is unclear whether non-friends will be able to send messages via Messenger if the security feature is on. Facebook in the statement also stated that a blue badge will be added to the profile page to remind that profile is locked.